Vintage 3 Speed English Bicycles

Brand New 1972 Raleigh Superbe

This Raleigh Superbe appears to have never been ridden and is in virtually brand new showroom floor condition. As such it’s a valuable restoration resource for the placement of decals and clips etc. Even the angle of the shifter seems factory set. It even comes with the original fork key. This bike would have retailed for approx. $104.00 in 1972, using the Bank of Canada’s Inflation Calculator, that works out to $550.00 to buy the same product today. The Superbe was always Raleigh’s top of the line model, and continues to hold it’s value.

6 responses

  1. Gorgeous. The Superbe is my favorite Raleigh. Now all I have to do is find one some day…

    June 17, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    • They are around, Just put a save search into Kijiji or Craigslist.

      June 17, 2012 at 3:41 pm

  2. Phil

    I purchased this bicycle yesterday. Did the seller upload these photos or did the blog admin take them from the craigslist posting I replied to. Interesting either way.

    June 18, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    • An excellent purchase, I hope you got a good price (the asking price was quite reasonable)
      I took the photos from the listing. A very nice bike, I would have considered it myself had the frame been taller.
      I did buy another one on Sunday for my Father in law that is also very original but does need a
      little work.
      I will post some shots of this one as well.

      June 18, 2012 at 2:56 pm

  3. Phil

    I chose not to argue on the price. It was very fair, and the thing rides like a dream. I’m 5’7″, so it’s perfect for me for an in-town rider

    June 18, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    • I tend not to argue as well.The price seemed fair for the condition, considering the new
      price today would be $550.00 or so.

      June 18, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Leave a Reply

