Vintage 3 Speed English Bicycles

Chat

1964 Glider Update

Last Sunday’s shakedown ride proved to be a bit of a disaster.

I had to stop en route to buy some wrenches to tighten various bolts (I needed a new set anyway and they were on sale).

Then the NOS brake cables I’d put on started to bind really badly. I think the ferrules were too small and were getting twisted in their housing.

Finally I locked the bike up outside the El Mocambo to see some (work related) wrestling and when I came out some Jackass had locked his bike to mine!!!

I killed some time in Kensington but when I returned it was still locked so I removed the Brooks saddle and the hand pump and took the streetcar home.

In any case, I got the bike back the next day and replaced the brake cables with some refurbished Sturmey Archer originals I had in the garage.

I’m still on the lookout for a mini fender (or fenderette) for the front wheel.

Today’s ride was a success and it’s one of the cleanest shifting hubs I’ve had.

P1140007 P1140008Even though I like the look of the inverted handle bars, I find them uncomfortable.

I’ll probably flip them back to their normal position.

4 responses

  1. LOL the lock thing has happened to me…both ways [absent mindedly locked mine to someone else]…more an annoyance than something to kill over…

    October 5, 2014 at 6:51 pm

  2. John M. Barrett

    Wow, hard luck but a good story!

    October 5, 2014 at 8:17 pm

  3. Cecil Harper

    The next ride has got to e better….Good Luck..Sounds like you need it!!!!

    October 5, 2014 at 8:51 pm

  4. A couple months ago, someone locked next to my bike. They didn’t lock to the frame, but they locked through the cables. So theoretically, I could extricate it if I wanted to go through the time and effort to remove cables, but thankfully the owner of the other bike was fetched at the local bar.

    The Glider is coming along nicely!

    October 6, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Leave a Reply

