Vintage 3 Speed English Bicycles

Chat

Modified Raleigh Tourist

I found this one on another good Three Speed Blog

Old Three Speed Gallery

Path racer 2 009Path racer 2 022Path racer 2 018

The full story here.

Jon, the builder of this custom Path Racer writes:

  HEY! That’s MY path racer replica. I built it in my apartment while living in South Carolina.   It’s based on a ’78 DL-1 Tourist frame, but I wanted to get an English ‘path bike vibe’ with the look. This frame geometry dates from the early 1900s, but it needed drop bars, no fenders and the elaborate brake linkage gone.   To do that, I used a big-diameter 53-tooth Williams chainwheel with cottered Williams crank arms (someone suggested they might be from a British folder from the ’60’s), and ’60’s Raleigh rat-trap pedals. To clean up the overall look and get closer to a racer configuration, I had a Sturmey Archer SC-3 coaster hub laced into a DL-1 rear rim; both wheels had their rims bead-blasted and were powder-coated black. The front brake is a stock stirrup connected to a Raleigh accessory front lever, probably from the 1920’s or ’30’s.  These components allowed me to build the bike without the traditional rod-brake set-up, which typically integrates with the handlebars. The shifter is a Sturmey Archer top bar unit, probably late-’20’s. Bars, when these photos were taken, were inverted Raleigh Sports bars on a Raleigh quill stem from the ’50’s, but I have changed over to a GB stem and shallow-drop moustache bars, probably from a postwar American fat-tire bike; I thought they had more of a “Lauterwasser” look. I bead-blasted the bars and added cork grips. Back then it had  Schwalbe Delta Cruisers, but I swapped in a set of ivory Ralson (India) block-tread tires from Brothers Rich in Baltimore, as well as Woods valves with knurled caps and retainer chains. This bike gets compliments whenever I bring it to group rides; someone always asks “What year is that?”, and I reply that it depends on which part. they mean . As you can imagine, its not a great climber, but for an old crock it’s actually pretty fast- I sprinted through one of those ‘your speed’ radar speed limit signs last week and got up to 35 mph. Attached are some images of it in current state. It and my other DL-1s are on my  Pinterest page ‘Big Brit Roadsters’

2 responses

  1. David Toffoli

    Very cool bike!

    September 29, 2015 at 6:58 am

  2. Jon.Albert

    Hi Greg   HEY! That’s MY path racer replica. I built it in my apartment while living in South Carolina.   It’s based on a ’78 DL-1 Tourist frame, but I wanted to get an English ‘path bike vibe’ with the look. This frame geometry dates from the early 1900s, but it needed drop bars, no fenders and the elaborate brake linkage gone.   To do that, I used a big-diameter 53-tooth Williams chainwheel with cottered Williams crank arms (someone suggested they might be from a British folder from the ’60’s), and ’60’s Raleigh rat-trap pedals. To clean up the overall look and get closer to a racer configuration, I had a Sturmey Archer SC-3 coaster hub laced into a DL-1 rear rim; both wheels had their rims bead-blasted and were powder-coated black. The front brake is a stock stirrup connected to a Raleigh accessory front lever, probably from the 1920’s or ’30’s.   These components allowed me to build the bike without the traditional rod-brake set-up, which typically integrates with the handlebars. The shifter is a Sturmey Archer top bar unit, probably late-’20’s. Bars, when these photos were taken, were inverted Raleigh Sports bars on a Raleigh quill stem from the ’50’s, but I have changed over to a GB stem and shallow-drop moustache bars, probably from a postwar American fat-tire bike; I thought they had more of a “Lauterwasser” look. I bead-blasted the bars and added cork grips. Back then it had crème Schwalbe Delta Cruisers, but I swapped in a set of ivory Ralson (India) block-tread tires from Brothers Rich in Baltimore, as well as Woods valves with knurled caps and retainer chains. This bike gets compliments whenever I bring it to group rides; someone always asks “What year is that?”, and I reply that it depends on which part. they mean   As you can imagine, its not a great climber, but for an old crock it’s actually pretty fast- I sprinted through one of those ‘your speed’ radar speed limit signs last week and got up to 35 mph. Attached are some images of it in current state. It and my other DL-1s are on my Pinterest page ‘Big Brit Roadsters’ .

    September 29, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Leave a Reply

