Vintage 3 Speed English Bicycles

Chat

Another Eatons Glider

I was looking for a Ladies’ bike for a friend of mine who is coming to town shortly and I didn’t want to spend too much as she’s only here for a month or so. George at Parkdale Bicycles had this Eatons Glider 5 speed out front and was kind enough to give it to me for this project.The frame was in decent shape and he had already repacked the bearings. The derailleur was missing as well as any cables and pads.

I decided to make it into a 3 speed as I have the parts in the shed.

The hub is dated 1965.

P1180481.JPGP1180482.JPGP1180484.JPGP1180485.JPGP1180487.JPG

The only real costs on this will be for some new cables and pads. I’m hoping to keep this one under $20.00!

I think it will serve it’s purpose and when my friend returns to Mexico I’ll return the bike to George for him to sell. My work will count as a rental….

P1180488.JPG

2 responses

  1. Love the green colour! If I wasn’t so short, i’d hunt down for this bike 😦

    June 6, 2016 at 4:48 pm

    • The seat height and bars are all adjustable and hundreds of these were sold over the years. Do a saved search on Kijiji. There’s probably at least 5 of them on there now.

      June 6, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Leave a Reply

