Vintage 3 Speed English Bicycles

Chat

The Anatomy of a Bicycle Tyre

I picked up an old Norman Ladies’ frame recently and the front wheel/tire was on odd size, 26″ x 1 1/4″.

P1180500.JPGP1180507.JPG

The tire itself was an old Dunlop Champion and completely shot. I wanted to keep the inner tube as I find old tubes hold air better than the new ones.

I tried to remove the tire with the regular tire irons but found it would not budge. Closer examination revealed a metal wire bead.

P1180499.JPGP1180505.JPG

I cut the bead with bolt cutters and got it off.

P1180501.JPG

Dunlop Champion.

P1180503.JPG

26 x 1 1/4.

P1180504.JPG

Hard to see but says “Inflate Hard”.

I suspect that this was an expensive racing tire.

One response

  1. I seem to remember “inflate hard” being something to do with encouraging cyclists to keep their tyres extra hard during the war to conserve rubber.

    June 8, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Leave a Reply

