Vintage 3 Speed English Bicycles

Chat

1961 Raleigh Superbe

This one literally showed up in my backyard yesterday…

My neighbour, Dan had bought it last week, removed the dynohub and decided he didn’t want it. We agreed on a price, $50.00 and there you have it.

P1180764.JPG

The Good.

1961 Raleigh Superbe

Tall frame

Fairly complete

Rims and hub are clean

Chromed fork ends

Locking fork (no key)

Shifter cable seems good

P1180771.JPG

P1180765.JPG

P1180768.JPGP1180766.JPG

The Bad

Tires

Old style calipers that require the special Raleigh brake cable

Non period trigger

Chain wheel crank looks a little bent.

Missing Dynohub (I have a spare in the garage).

P1180767.JPG

P1180769.JPG

The Ugly

A poor repaint (not sure of original colour).

P1180770.JPGP1180772.JPG

 

2 responses

  1. Nice! But yeah, a bummer that there is no Dynohub. As for the trigger shifter, I know it’s heresy, but I actually like that era lever. It’s what I have on my 68 Superbe. I didn’t like the stock lever from the late 60’s to late 70’s, the one with the “plastic over metal” that always breaks.

    September 11, 2016 at 12:47 pm

    • I agree about the plastic faced shifters. I have an all metal earlier version in stock for this bike.

      September 11, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Leave a Reply

