Vintage 3 Speed English Bicycles

Chat

Another Reader’s Submission

moto1.jpg

Diarmuid C. writes:

“I thought you might like to see my late 70s /early 80s Belfo by Motobecane 3 speed that I’ve just restored.
It’s probably one of the last made in Pantin France as it’s head badge shows.
moto2.jpgbefore reto spec.jpg
I bought it a few years ago for 100 euros .I normally have no interest in anything without rod brakes but this bike with 3 speed coaster and drum brakes appealed to me .
After dismantling,
I sanded and painted it Royal blue. I removed all the cable guides,shortend the cable sleeve and fitted a cable pulley wheel just like a Sturmey Archer 3 speed.

It was originally French racing blue but I had the royal so decided to use this as my budget  for this bike was low.

The front brakes are Maillard /Sram drum and the rear are Scam/Sachs coaster .

When I bought the bike it had non standard 50T modern Shimano (square bottom bracket).which, being aluminium wore out along with the chain which was never compatible with the the Sram rear cog.

I removed this chainwheel and replaced it with a steel 44T and re-greased  the bottom bracket bearings and head bearings .
I was pleased the bottom bracket wasn’t sealed as it was my intention to make it look older.

moto- 1.jpg
I think re-routing the cables gives it a cleaner look and makes the bike look a little older .
I’ve included before and after pictures
4 responses

  1. Timothy A Baker

    Just cool. Thanks.

    November 29, 2016 at 5:22 pm

  2. diarmuid considine

    Thank very much

    November 29, 2016 at 7:04 pm

  3. The bike looks real good, i like the blue color

    November 29, 2016 at 7:26 pm

    • diarmuid considine

      Thank you.I fitted a Triumph fork crown and Im considering fitting a hockey stick chain guard from an old Raleigh .

      November 30, 2016 at 11:48 am

Leave a Reply

