Vintage 3 Speed English Bicycles

Chat

Twisted Forks

Daryl from Freelander Bicycles writes:
Hi Greg,
I’m restoring a Raleigh and the fork is bent slightly. Looks like someone  tried to turn the bars when the lock was engaged. It’s slight, but does pull to the left a little.
It looks like the left blade was bent forward as someone turned the bars to the left.
Any thoughts on how to straighten it and if it would weaken the fork?
Thanks, Daryl
Enjoying your posts as always!

unnacxzfsrhumed.jpgmnjhgxtk.jpg

I don’t have a solution per se but can only suggest that you try to reef on them back the other way. I straightened a bent crank last week, so if the metal can be bent one way, it makes sence that it can be bent back…

Anyone else?

4 responses

  1. John

    There is a rather large and heavy fork alignment tool that you can clamp in a vice and bend the blades (ever so carefully) while keeping some kind of dropout aligning bolt/nut combination installed. Your LBS probably has one of these.
    You could just put the crown in a vice and bend the blade but that’s not as accurate.
    If you get near Charlottesville, VA, let me know and I’ll show you.
    Good luck

    July 1, 2017 at 12:20 pm

  2. Thanks Greg and John,

    I’ve heard of such tools but haven’t seen or used one. The more I look at the fork the more I think that it is something worth trying to straighten myself if only for the experience, if I am not successful. I think a careful setting up in a vise and a gentle bending of one blade should do it. I’ll let you know how it goes over the next week or so.

    All the best,
    Daryl

    July 1, 2017 at 6:53 pm

  3. JJ Lamoure

    I straightened a bike frame that my friend ran over with his truck.
    I secured the bottom bracket in a large bench vice and used a couple of long 2 x 4,s clamped together to GENTLY bend the rear triangle back into place. Worked quite well.
    I would try this for your forks.
    Put the fork crown in the vice and clamp both fork ends together between two pieces of wood and gently twist them into place.

    July 10, 2017 at 7:53 pm

    • Thanks JJ. That is what I plan to do later today. I think I’ll clamp the crown and bend the fork blades. Hopefully this will do the trick. All the best, Daryl

      July 13, 2017 at 6:25 am

Leave a Reply

