Vintage 3 Speed English Bicycles

Chat

Iverson and More Junk

The Iverson will be going to a new home today. I have a few more adjustments to make and it should be good to go. This is one of the nicest bikes that I’ve sent out of my shop.

Shifts very well and is virtually silent on the road (no squeaks or rattles).

P1190199.JPG

My shop is really my back yard…

P1190200.JPG

The 22T cog is quite pleasant.

P1190205.JPG

 

I took the old tires back to the seller and swapped them for a good mattress saddle and while there bought ANOTHER bike for $20.00….

P1190201.JPG

A Raleigh built Supercycle. It’s got some parts on it that I can use (metal trigger and the brake levers I like) and could be a future project. I think the rims are beyond saving.

P1190202.JPG

These are the levers I like to use.

P1190203.JPG

Strangely, I can’t find even a hint of a date stamp on the hub but I would guess it’s from 1972/73.

3 responses

  1. Very nicely done! It is my experience as well that some of the lesser known/valued brands can be of comparable quality to the more established brands. (I may have asked this before, but…) How can you tell a SuperCycle is Raleigh built?

    August 17, 2017 at 9:31 am

    • In this case it was easy to identify…there’s a decal that says “Made in England”.
      Other notable suppliers of Supercycles were CCM and Bridgestone in the early/mid 70’s.

      August 17, 2017 at 3:25 pm

  2. richardelawson

    Hello I just found your site today. I have a ccm I was going to scrap, not sure if you want it. The rear rim was severely rusted and I removed the sturmey hub/shifters to give to a friend. Are you interested in it? I am in the west end of toronto. I am sure you can use some if the other parts – levers, callipers, fenders. I fix up bikes myself as a hobby (mostly 10, 12,14 speeds) take care, Richard

    August 20, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Leave a Reply

