Vintage 3 Speed English Bicycles

Chat

Hubba Hubba

img_2377.jpg

This old CCM Galaxie 3 Speed came to me years ago. The rear wheel and hub looked good but never performed properly. The rear wheel was swapped out and the original went into the shed…

Fast forward 8 years and the same hub was installed on a current project.

p1000408.jpg

I’d clearly forgotten it’s troubled past…

No amount of tweaking or adjusting would make it work.

I decided to take the hub apart and find out what was wrong. There’s a very good tutorial on youtube:

 

P1190213.JPG

Once apart I found a seized pawl with a rusted/broken spring as well as a displaced pin holding the sun gear onto the axle.

All parts were cleaned, new springs purchased and the hub was re assembled…

It still didn’t work!

I took it apart again and had a closer look at the axle which appeared slightly warped.

I can only imagine that the loose pin had been like that for years and caused the problem.

In any case, I swapped the guts out of a ’61 hub into the shell and all is well…..

 

6 responses

  1. Dartl

    Interesting. Thanks for the post. I was beginning to believe these hubs were indestructible. I guess after many years a displaced pin is enough to render even a SA hub nonfunctional.

    August 22, 2017 at 2:45 pm

    • This is the first one that I’ve had trouble with…

      August 22, 2017 at 2:50 pm

  2. You tried but it was too far gone.

    August 22, 2017 at 3:10 pm

  3. Bazil Smith

    The urbane cyclist was the last place I bought those panel springs, last summer I guess. They had some S/A hub parts.
    Who has the 21t &22t sprockets in stock?

    August 25, 2017 at 9:46 am

    • Urbane as well. I may have bought all of the 22’s, I bought 4 of them.
      They would order for you.

      August 25, 2017 at 9:50 am

Leave a Reply

