Vintage 3 Speed English Bicycles

Chat

Customized Raleigh DL-1 Update

IMG_3521

Jon A. writes:

 I finally found a moment to get some shots of the Raleigh in current state. As I said earlier, it’s based on a 1978 DL-1 Tourist frame, fork and rims, but I wanted the look of a path racer from about a century ago. I researched English path bikes from the early 1900s and found much of what I needed on eBay.
– Sturmey Archer SC-3 coaster brake rear hub (no rear rod brake linkages or lever)
– Williams 52-tooth chainwheel and cottered crankset with Raleigh chrome steel rat trap pedals
– vintage Sturmey Archer top-tube shifter
– Gerry Burgess stem with an inverted raw steel moustache bar (origin unknown), Condor 3-note horn and cork grips
– Raleigh accessory add-on front rod brake
– ‘gallows’-style seat post with a honey Brooks B-15 saddle and tan Acorn tool roll bag
– bead-blasted and powder-coated black rims
The ivory Ralson block-tread tires with Woods valves, knurled caps and retainer chains came from Paul Eric Rich, who builds the Charleston, also a DL-1-based path racer.

IMG_3527 IMG_3535 IMG_3544

Joe Baidieme, a bike tech at a shop near where I was living at the time, built the wheels and did the final build and adjustments for me; Joe totally understood what I was after. Frame paint is original with touch-ups, and I repainted the front forks. Graphics were removed and replaced with early Raleigh ‘Varsity’-style transfers. This bike takes some effort to get rolling but has a fairly fast top speed; I managed 35 mph through one of those ‘your speed’ radar signs in our neighborhood. It is a lot of fun to ride.
regards
Jon

3 responses

  1. Cecil Harper

    Great looking bike….nice work…

    October 11, 2015 at 8:28 pm

  2. Joe Baideme

    Thanks for sharing. I enjoyed the work on that bike. Wish I could make a living just restoring vintage and antique stuff! 🙂

    October 19, 2015 at 9:34 pm

  3. Hi I do have one of the last Raleigh stainless bikes from either 1983 or 1984. Still today it ride like a Cadillac and is pristine!

    July 16, 2016 at 5:07 pm

Leave a comment