Vintage 3 Speed English Bicycles

Chat

Another Bitsa

A Bitsa is a British term for something (usually a motorbike) that’s made from bits of this and bits of that….

I had  said I would tidy up a bike for a young woman that I work with.

She picked up a CCM 3 Speed from me last week and wanted to give her old bike to her mother. It turned out to be an odd Swedish bike, a Crescent. I ended up getting the bike about 80% back together before I realized that the frame was badly bent…..

P1180426.JPG

A quick visit to George at Parts Unknown produced a very nice Ladies Norman bicycle circa 1960 (pre Raleigh). Anything useable was salvaged from the original bike and transfered, including the aluminum rims, stem and bars, basket,  etc.

P1180427.JPGP1180428.JPG

I was able to salvage some useful 3 Speed parts from the Norman and transfer to some other projects.

P1180432.JPG

The bike is currently set up with a coaster brake back wheel and a single front caliper. The chain guard is from an Eatons Glider.

Not a show bike but quite presentable

2 responses

  1. Looks good to me, for riding around.

    May 22, 2016 at 12:06 pm

    • I didn’t spend more than $25/30.00 on it.

      May 22, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Leave a comment